The Brotherhood is fortunate to have an active group of Staff and Community Leaders who help to maintain and further our mission. Many of our leaders are the children or grandchildren of the original founders of the Brotherhood, making it all the more special that they remain active and involved in the society's efforts. Coupled with the support of our Executive Committee, Central Council, and various other committee members, these individuals dedicate their time and effort to sustain the Brotherhood and ensure its continuity for generations to come. If you are interested in becoming more active or getting involved with Brotherhood leadership, reach out to us at info@sephardicbrotherhood.com. We will welcome your support!

Rabbi Nissim Elnecavé - Executive Director

Rabbi Nissim Elnecavé is an active rabbinic educator in the New York Sephardic community and current serves as the Rabbi at Congregation Mikdash Eliyahu in Brooklyn. He was born in Mexico City to a family descendant from Ottoman-Ladino Turkey. He received his rabbinical formal training (Semikha) in Jerusalem at the Shehebar Sephardic Center and Yeshivat Porat Yosef, focusing on the minhag (traditions) and customs of the Ladino-speaking Sephardic Jews of Turkey, Greece, and the Balkans. 


In addition to being a community rabbi, he is a staff consultant to Yeshiva University, where he helps catalog and translate information from antiquarian Jewish books in Ladino to English and Hebrew. Rabbi Elnecavé was appointed Executive Director in 2016 and has taken an active lead in reaching out to the next generation of Sephardic Jews and collaborating with communities across the country.

Executive Committee


President: Joseph J. Toledo

First Vice President: Marvin Marcus

Second Vice President: Irving Barocas

Secretary: Andrew Marcus

Treasurer: Jeffrey Beja

Financial Secretary: Sol Niego

Assist. Secretary: Briana Barocas

Assist. Treasurer: David Schribman

Assist. Financial Secretary: Bernard Ouziel

Henry J. Perahia Funds Committee


Chair: Marvin Marcus

Trustee: Esther Toledo

Trustee: Bernard Ouziel

Trustee: Aaron Soury

Scholarship and Education Committee


Co-Chair: Sol Niego

Co-Chair: Marvin Marcus

Irving Barocas

Andrew Marcus

Alan Roby

Joseph J. Toledo

Jeffrey Beja

Joe Halio

Robert Kattan

Sol Niego
Bernard Ouziel
Myles Ouziel
Henry Perahia
Vida Perahia
Joseph Rubin
David Schribman
Elliot Senor
Aaron Soury
Michael Soury
Zelda Stollman
Esther Toledo
Joseph Toledo
Chelsey Zane

Joseph Acriche
Sharon Assael-Davis
Briana Barocas
Irving Barocas 
Renee Barocas
Sedat Behar
Alex Beja
Jeffrey Beja
Samantha Beja
Joshua Ben-Ezra
Jeffrey Ezratty
Sidney Gerson
Simon Gerson
Grace Halio

Central Council

Joe Halio
Susan Halio
Barbara Hasson Baron
Matthew Herling
Amy Kattan
Robert Kattan
Jack Levi

Megan Luna-Victoria
Andrew Marcus
Ethan Marcus
Joel Marcus
Marvin Marcus
Jay Matalon
Victor Namer

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

The Sephardic Jewish Brotherhood of America


67-67 108 Street, Forest Hills, NY 11375

Phone: (718)-685-0080 | Email: info@sephardicbrotherhood.com

© 2020 Sephardic Jewish Brotherhood of America, Inc. All Rights Reserved.